Gluten must be strictly avoided if you have celiac’s disease.
Gluten is found in wheat, rye and barley, which are contained in many different types of food.
As life-long exclusion from the diet is currently the only treatment of celiac’s disease, careful instruction and meticulous inspection of food labels are necessary. Declaration of gluten content on food labels varies between countries and is generally not obligatory for all foods.
Oats are gluten-free, but can be gluten-contaminated due to processing procedures and are tolerated by most patients. Besides, barley, rye and wheat (einkorn, durum, fara, graham, kamut, semolina, spelt), triticale and malt (if made from barley) must be excluded. On the other hand, amaranth, arrowroot, beans, buckwheat (if not mixed with wheat), chia seed, corn (maize), flax, gargava, hemp seed, millet, nut flour, potato, rice, sorghum, soy, sweet potato / yam, tapioca, and teff are allowed grains or flour. A wide range of gluten-free foods are now offered in many countries. The term ‘gluten-free’ actually implies that the food contains gluten concentrations below a certain limit, as defined by governments. Some governments subsidize the special dietary needs. Gluten is also found in some medicines. We recommend consulting a dietician experienced in celiac’s disease for detailed advice.
This link lists food considered unsafe for consumption in celiac’s disease
This link lists food considered safe for consumption in celiac’s disease
Contamination of food products not containing gluten with gluten from other sources during food preparation is a frequently encountered problem. This may happen via food preparation surfaces, cutlery, food preparation equipment, such as toasters, mills, sifters, food manufacture, but also if oils for food preparation are reused. This is of importance at home as well as in restaurants and canteens at work or school. Most commercially manufactured grains can be contaminated with gluten, unless manufactured in dedicated or gluten-free facilities.
Additional resources if your child has celiac’s
- Wheat-free is not gluten-free.
- Distilled products do not contain significant gluten, due to the distillation process. This includes wines, brandy, cider, sherry, rum, tequila, vermouth, whiskey / whisky and other liquors. Potential, minor external sources of gluten may be additives (e.g. coloring or flour paste to caulk oak barrels). However, ales, beers and lagers are made from gluten-containing grains, are not distilled and are not gluten-free.
- Gluten may be an ingredient of medications, vitamin and other supplements. Some cosmetics, such as lipstick, lip balm or gloss contain gluten.